Dwarf Fortress, and a quick update

October 28, 2011

Okay, so I’ve been tinkering for a long time with the idea of someday programming a text-based roguelike space-exploration game, in which you remotely-command a probe, explore, collect materials and data, and eventually upgrade with new equipment, sensors, weapons and whatnot.  Anyhow, I’ve been reading about Minecraft (another game worth looking at) lately, and through that I happened to come across the freeware game, Dwarf Fortress.  Quite frankly, I am amazed.

This game accomplishes almost exactly the sort of intelligent randomization that I am hoping to formulate, quickly generating a high-fantasy world, complete with civilizations, monsters, named people, not to mention its own history.  Then, you get to play your own part in this world’s history either city-builder style in Dwarf Fortress mode, or RPG style in Adventurer mode.  Whoa!

Now, I won’t lie.  The interface and graphics take some getting used to.  There are a whole lot of keybindings to learn, and it can be tricky at times to interpret what the text-tiled graphics are indicating, but if you’re interested in extremely in-depth fantasy games, then I would definitely give this a shot.

 

Now, for a quick update on what I’ve got brewing (no, the aforementioned Probe game is not on the list–I’ll let you know when I get to it!).  My album recording may have hit the 2/3 mark today.  I say “may” because I’m still debating whether or not to keep my recording for song 8/12.  There were a few moments in my take where things didn’t go quite as planned, which leaves this recording somewhat organic (as I have been calling it).  Frankly, I’m a bit fond of it–which is actually unusual for me in respect to my recordings; however, I’m still not 100% certain.

Furthermore, I have been outlining/developing backstory for my science-fiction novel for NaNoWriMo (if only my brain could intelligently randomize an entire solar-system as quickly as Dwarf Fortress can a fantasy world!).  I’ve also been working on a map of said solar system, which I will post here when I finish it.  So stay tuned if you want a sneak peak of the solar system where this story takes place!

Nash

Leave a Reply

