Up Next: Science Fiction and album recording

October 23, 2011

Well, the funding deadline for my Kickstarter project has officially passed, as of 12:00pm yesterday.  Thanks to everyone who participated!  Over half of the copies have already been sent out, and the others are either awaiting shipping information or will be sent out during tomorrow’s trip to the post office.

Here’s a view of my work station, after a long weekend of hand-publishing ghost stories.

What’s up next, then?  I’m still chugging along on my album (see previous post).  I haven’t quite hit the halfway point as far as recording goes, but hopefully sometime tomorrow I will record vocals for the sixth song of twelve, and that will do the trick.  I’ve been dying to get another looping pedal (my previous one went haywire), but it isn’t really a necessity for this album (which is entirely acoustic guitar and vocals/harmonica).  Still, I think I may resolve to purchase another one as a reward for finishing the album, though I’m not certain what kind I will try.

On the writing front, I am gathering ideas in approach of the outlining phase for my Science Fiction novel (which is, as yet, unnamed).  I plan to start writing in November, to coincide with NaNoWriMo.  If you haven’t heard about NaNoWriMo (National Novel-Writing Month), it is essentially a personal achievement in which one strives to write an entire 200 page/50,000 word novel during the month of November.  Participants can even sign up on the official website (linked above) to help keep track of their progress.

I won’t be signing up this year, but I have decided to at least give it a try.  However, I am allowing myself to possibly opt-out if I decide that the NaNoWriMo deadline is too oppressive for me/this particular project, because, simply put, I am an incredibly slow writer.  But, who knows?  Maybe this sort of pressure will be perfect to kick me into high gear for once!  I intend to find out…

That being said, I am definitely not going into November unprepared.  I intend to have a detailed outline of the entire plot, as well as a vivid notion of backstory/setting/characters/macro mechanics.  And that is what I’m up to now.

Now, what is this novel going to be all about?  Well, you’ll have to wait and see!  I’ll offer up a little snippet in a few days after I’ve compiled my thoughts a little bit better and have a more concrete idea of names and such.

Still wandering,
Nash

PS — This post has 425 words.  Successfully completing NaNoWriMo means writing over 1,666 words every day.

Leave a Reply

